Unknown fish? Help identifying.

Outdoorsy

New Angler
Jan 20, 2021
Hello! I am fairly new and young to the fishing community. However I have been fishing Silver Lake in Perry since I was a kid. This past summer I caught this fish. It might be obvious to others what it is but like I’ve said I’m fairly new to the scene. I looked at a list of freshwater fish in the area and it looks similar to some of them but not exact enough that I could pinpoint it. The elders of my family who have been fishing Silver Lake had no idea what this was either. Never caught anything but your typical sunfish and bluegill, perch, crappie, bass, your classic ny lake species. The fish was silver, like really silver, and sparkled in the sunlight. It had goldish brown fins, and besides the tail, only three of them. An angled bottom fin (seen in the picture) and basically the exact same shape fin but just on its top, and it’s two front little fins on either side. It’s eyes were a light yellowish color. The closest thing I saw to it during my research was a mooneye but they don’t appear to inhabit the lake according to the web. Any help is appreciated! Really curious to see what this little guy is because like I said, me, my family, and my neighbors had never caught one of these in Silver Lake. E07FBA64-7CB0-4293-864B-DBA436948C87.jpeg

BennyV

Staff member
Dec 21, 2018
City Island, The Bronx